Posted in Health, Information

Pain Meds For Dogs

One  of the most common questions I hear is what can I give my dog for pain.

First I want to say dogs have extremely high pain tolerance.

Second before giving your dog any pain medication you need to identify why your dog is in pain.

The only human pain medication you can give a dog is Aspirin.

Start off with 5 milligrams of aspirin per pound of dog. If your dog still shows signs of high pain you can up the dosage to 10 milligrams per pound of dog. 1 dosage ever 12 hours. DO NOT overdose your dog, you will kill your dogs liver!!!

Now when giving your dog aspirin, you don’t want to give it to them for a long period of time. I give my dogs aspirin for about 2 days then a few days off then if they still need it I will give them a few more dosages. If your dog is still hurting after 7 days it is seriously time to consult a Vet.

I am not one to take my dogs to the vet over every little problem. I try to take care of my dogs at home. The vet as we all know is very expensive, and it is a several hour drive to a good vet. If you need vet advice several vets do vlog posts on YouTube that you can check out to help you. DO NOT run straight to Facebook and ask for advice, you will get several people thinking they know everything and wanting to add their two cents.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

