Posted in Health, Information

Ear Infection

Do you think your dog has an ear infection??

There are two different types of ear infections, in most adult dogs it is a yeast and bacteria infection (what this post is about) in puppies and younger dogs it is more likely to be ear mites (I will be doing a post on this soon).

Does your dogs ear have a red-ish brown-ish color ear wax covering the inside of the ear??

Does your dogs ear smell funny?? (dogs ears shouldn’t smell)

Is your dog favoring one ear, holding it off to the side??

Is your dog itching his ear a lot??

Is your dog crying sometimes when he itches his ear??

If you answered yes to these then your dog most likely has a yeast/bacteria ear infection. Now I am not a vet but I have had a few dogs with ear infections so I take matters into my own hands.

First, clean the ear. Make a solution of 50% water 50% hydrogen peroxide (yes the brown bottle that bubbles on your cuts). Make sure it is just over room temperature. Pour a little bit of the solution in your dogs ear then place a cotton ball or two into the ear as well. Massage the base of the ear for as long as your dog will let you. (normally about 60-90 seconds. Remove the cotton ball and let them shake. Is the cotton ball red-ish brown?? Most likely. Place another cotton ball in their ear and massage the ear for about 30-60 seconds. Repeat as necessary to get a clean cotton ball or until your pup has had enough.

Now that the ear is mostly clean it is time to put in the medicine. I LOVE LOVE LOVE EcoEars it is natural and extremely effective. I recently used this for my GSD and it surprised me. My first dog that had an ear infection I rushed my dog to the vet like a good mom and got a $100 vet bill and weird yellow/cream colored medicine to put in his ears. It did the job in 10 days it was gone and my pup was happy. EcoEars stopped the smell and the pain for my dog in about 3-4 days. After I put it in his ears and massaged it chunks of yeast and bacteria (the red/brown stuff) would come flying out when he would shake his head. I could tell my boy was feeling much better! It has been 5 days, his ear is standing up like normal instead of kind of off to the side, he is not in pain when he scratches his ear now. I am still going to treat for the full 7-10 days to ensure the infection is gone; because this is all natural it will not harm your dog if you keep treating with no infection. It will then just become an ear cleaner. It is just like when we take antibiotics and they tell us to take ALL the medicine even if we are feeling better after the first 4 days.

With all that being said I did not take this dog with an ear infection to the vet because as stated earlier, to get to a vet for me is a 3 hour drive there and back and 1 tank of gas. Now if it was an emergency and something I cant take care of my self then yes I would make the drive for the safety of my dog.

I hope this has helped yall and I hope you love this product as much as I do. If you ever have questions feel free to email me anytime at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

One thought on “Ear Infection

Leave a Reply

