Posted in Homemade

Homemade Chews 2

Sweet Potato & Zucchini Chews

My post yesterday  was a sweet potato Chew that was baked this one is dehydrated check out the recipe below.

First of all you need to pick what fruit or vegetable you want to use. Sweet Potato or Zucchini or any other dog safe fruit or vegetable (Pumpkin, Apple, Banana, Beets, Bell Peppers, Broccoli, Cantaloupe, Carrots, Cucumbers, Green Beans, Melon, papaya, pears, pineapple, raspberries, Squash, and strawberries to name a few) Check out Dog Safe Human Food for more ideas

Thinly slice with mandolin or knife
about 1/8th inch.

Place thinly sliced fruit and vegetables on dehydrators trays.

Turn on the dehydrator, if you have the fancy one with different settings, use the manufactures settings for vegetables and fruits.

Decide what consistency you want, does your dog like chewing on hard bones if so I would let them get harder, does your like a little softer items like stuffed animals and ropes if so remove them from the tray when you think is best.

Check the consistency of the vegetables and fruits often to ensure they don’t over cook. Remove them as they finish.

Store in brown paper sack in refrigerator for optimal shelf life.

I hope you all enjoy this. There are links above that lead you to amazon to purchase items. I do make a very small profit from amazon if you make a purchase. It helps me keep this blog going.

If you have any questions feel free to email me at germanshepheddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

