Posted in Homemade

Homemade Chews

Lets face it, Christmas is next week and we all want to give our pups a healthy little chewy to keep them busy and spoiled during the holiday season. Blow is a very easy recipe that takes not much effort and will keep your pup busy for a bit.

Homemade Sweet Potatoes Chew

Sweet potatoes are full of  lots of amazing things like; Vitamin E, Potassium, Iron, Fiber, Antioxidants, and are great for regulating insulin levels.  Olive oil is a healthy fat that humans and pets both need in their diet.  Cinnamon is known to be great for digestion, circulation, cognitive function, and also regulating insulin levels- and most dogs love the flavor that cinnamon adds to the sweet potato (so do I).

Preheat oven to 250° F.

Slice sweet potatoes into long strips about 1/4” thick using a sharp butcher knife or  a mandolin.

To make slicing easier, slice on one side and then rest the potato on the flat side. Cut strips across perpendicular to the first slice. For small dogs you can then cut these wide strips into narrow pieces if you want a smaller treat.

Toss sweet potato slices in a large bowl with olive oil, stir and toss well to coat thoroughly.

Place on a cookie sheet, lined with parchment paper

Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Bake for 2 ½ to 3 hours.

Allow to cool and store in refrigerator in an airtight container for up to 3 weeks, or in the freezer for up to 4 months.

This is my first post in my new section of homemade items for you dogs, I hope yall love it and I will be posting more soon so check back often. I hope you all enjoy!!

If you have any questions feel free to email me anytime at germanshepheddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

