Posted in About Me and What I do, Training

Introducing a new dog to the home

Introducing a new dog into the home can be very stressful for dogs and the owners. Below is the best way I have found to introduce dogs.

First: Always Always Always meet in a neutral environment. A place neither has been before or not in the recent past. This eliminates the territorial of this is my house.

Second: With the first dog in your vehicle go meet the new dog, pet them and walk them around. Let the new dog use the bathroom and become more comfortable. Return the new dog to their vehicle and get the first dog out, let them sniff you (you will smell like the new dog) then walk the first dog around the same path you took the new dog. This will allow your dog to some what get used the smell of the new dog, also let them smell where the new dog went to the bathroom (if they did).

Third: (this will take two people) with both dogs on a leash go for a walk, at first walk with both humans close to each other and the dogs on the outside, gradually allow one dog to the inside and after a little bit allow the second dog to the inside. Keep walking allowing the dogs to get close but have their minds on something else (walking).

Fourth: If they dogs seem to be getting along well allow them to lightly play (keep the leashes on to be able to control the situation in the case something goes wrong). Throw a few balls or a toy to see if both dogs share a common interest.

Fifth: Bring the dogs to the house. Keep the first dog in the car and show the new dog around the house for a little bit. Show the new dog the yard and any other area the dogs will be spending time together. Bring in the first dog (on a leash) and bring the dogs together in a large area like a yard. This allows a dog to get away from a could be fight in the case if it happened. If things go right the dogs will run around, seem interested in each other but also interested in the surroundings.

For a week or so keep a close eye on the dogs when they are together, the relationship will grow as they find things in common with each other.

My dogs didn’t get as much time as we would have liked to get to know each other before we had to put them in the car and drive 3 hours home. Once they got home my new dog was very scared and liked to be in the corner. After my new dog learning where he is supposed to go to the bathroom and not leaving my side I decided it would be good to find something that both dogs can enjoy. I took my “original” dog out to play with the tennis ball like she loves. My new dog stood by my side for a while not knowing what to do with a tennis ball or how to play, it took him about 3 minutes before he started running a few feet, watching my original dog then running back to my side. After about 3 days of this and other activities my dog have become attached at the hip. They do everything together, I mean everything!!!

I hope this helps some that are thinking about getting a new dog. If you have any questions feel free to email me anytime at Germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

