Posted in Food and Feeding

Switching dog foods

I hear all the time that people want to change their dogs food to a different brand but they don’t know how to do it. Well here we go. You always start the food change at the first meal of the day to allow you dog to process it and be able to quickly use the bathroom if need. Also use the same food ratio for that entire day.

First, you should have enough of the “old” food for about 3 days and you should have the “new” food.

Day 1: start with the first morning feeding feed 3/4 of how much you normally feed “old” food and 1/4 “new” food. Use that ratio for all other feedings that day.

Day 2: Feed 2/3 old food and 1/3 new food.

Day 3: Feed 1/2 old food and 1/2 new food.

Day 4: Feed 1/4 old food and 3/4 new food.

Day 5: If you still have old food left, sprinkle it on top of the new food. On day 5 it should be mostly all new food.

Now with the basic schedule laid out I normally add about 1/4 cup of cooked white rice on top of the food. Cooked white rice will line the stomach and intestines with a coating that will help prevent diarrhea.

I hope this helps some of yall

If you have any questions feel free to email me at Germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

 

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

2 thoughts on “Switching dog foods

Leave a Reply

