Posted in About Me and What I do, Puppy Training, Training

Barking: To much

Do you have the dog that barks at every single thing, like the leaf or plastic bag blowing in the wind? Do you want to stop this? Below is a great way to keep your dogs confidence to keep barking when they need to and not bark when there is no real threat.

First, do you have a release word? When dogs are barking at something they are protecting you and telling you there is something there that you need to see. If you reply with “STOP BARKING!!! AAAAHHHHH STOP!!” its not going to do much. If you reply with “out” that will do a lot more. When you say out, you are telling them it is no longer a threat and that you see it. Its the same word police use for their K9’s to release a bite on someone. It is our way of saying it is no longer a threat and thank you.

If they don’t stop barking you say “out” again and touch their head while saying it. This will show them that this is their release word and that mom/dad is here and I will handle it.

Once your dog has stopped barking praise them, for stopping and for brining your attention to it. Now if it is a leaf blowing in the yard, you don’t want to encourage that so you give one pet for stopping and then walk away. To much attention will make them bark at everything.

If you have tried this technique constantly for about a month and it is not working for you I would try a training collar. Like these, most of these collars have 3 levels of correction. 1. a beep noise on the dogs collar for them to realize that they are doing something wrong. 2. an adjustable vibration setting for the dogs that ignore the beeping noise and keep going. 3. an adjustable shock setting for the worse case scenario. I have only had to use the shock once on my dogs. My favorite out of all of the collars is this one it has 100 settings for vibration and shock so you can start off lightly and increase until your dog listens.

I will be doing an entire blog post on these collars so look for it in the near future.

My dogs bark when the door bell rings, when someone knocks, sees a dog or other animal(except for animals you hunt, then they just stare intently and don’t move or make a sound), or when the kids across the street are screaming.

Also check out my post: Barking: To little

As always I hope someone learns something from this post and if you have any questions or comments feel free to email me at Germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

