Posted in Puppy Training, Training

Barking: To little

Does your GSD like never bark? Even when the door bell rings or someone knocks on the door? Do you want them to bark? Below is how I got my GSD barking and being more protective.

If yall have read my post My Dogs you know that my GSD was extremely malnourished and had absolutely no confidence when we got him. Now he is over 90 lbs. and is working on bite training. It took me about a week after getting him healthy to start barking and being protective. Now if you live in the country like I do you never have visitors so the door bell never rings, so when my husband come home from work he rings the door bell instead of unlocking the door. The more that door bell rings the faster your dog will learn.

First it helps if you have a second dog that is protective and barks when you want them to. If you have a first dog they will help you train the new dog to bark and when to bark. If you don’t have a first dog and your struggling to get him to bark try some of the following technique.

First, you need to build their confidence. When the door bell rings you need to get excited by saying, “who’s there” “watch ’em” “who is it”. Does your dog run up to the door with you? If he does praise him, even if they don’t bark that is a great start. Do this every time the door bell rings. After a few days of running up to the door they might start barking like once or twice, praise them! If your other half is on the other side of the door ringing the door bell have them knock hard on the door, like pounding. That should get your dogs attention and get them to start barking. Now you don’t want them to stop once you open the door. You want them to stop when you give the command “out” now to do this if you have a screen door keep getting them excited even when you open “the big door” saying “whos there” “watch ’em” and “who is it”. Then once you know who it is and that they aren’t here to kill you or rob you is when you say “out” then if they keep barking say it again and touch their head. Your touch will calm them down and they will realize that is their release word.

This technique has worked for all my dogs and doesn’t take to long for them to learn. My door bell rings about 2 or 3 times a day and it is a game to my dogs. They run up to the door barking, I open the big door and my GSD puts his front feet on the screen door and they bark and bark until I tell them “out” then they just cant wait for my “guest” to come through the door so they can play. Don’t get me wrong if I don’t say “out” they will attack the “guest” and hold him by the arm until I get handcuffs on them and release the dog then he will just keep barking.

I love my working dog

 

Well I hope this helps some of yall and like always if you have any questions please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

One thought on “Barking: To little

Leave a Reply

