Posted in Health, Hygiene

Tick

Its that time of year, the temperature is going down and all the animals are looking a warm place to hid out. Now I don’t want that warm place to be my pets or my house.

Below are a few pictures of ticks so you know what you are looking at, the large white tick is a well fed tick that has been “feeding” for days. Finding ticks on our GSDs is a lot harder then finding ticks on my Pitbull or other short hair dogs.

 

Ticks live all over the world no matter the climate or elevation. They are more common in lower elevation and warmer climates. Below is a map of the United States to show where ticks are most popular.

Ticks dive head first into their victim and feed off their victims blood. The larger and whiter the tick the more blood it has eaten.

Now if you are anything like me I am absolutely completely freaked out by bugs and creepy crawling things so removing ticks is extremely disgusting to me. So when I had to suck it up and remove 7 ticks from my dog I put on my elbow high purple cleaning gloves, got a bowl of water, some rubbing alcohol, and tweezers. Then got my puppy to lay down, I find the tick, then I use my gloved covered hands and pinch the skin under the ticks head like you would a zit or black head and push it out. You can also grab the tick as close to the skin as possible, and lightly and slowly pulling it out. Then place the tick in the bowl of water then pour the rubbing alcohol where the tick was and move onto the next one. When all the ticks are in the water bowl make sure they all have their heads.

After removing all ticks its time to think about tick prevention. There are several tick prevention methods the hard part is finding the method that works best for you and your dog. Click here to see several tick prevention methods from amazon.com.

For more on this problem read my other post Flees for more information and helpful tips and tricks.

Hope this helps some of yall with tick problems.

Like always if you have any questions please feel free to email me germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

 

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

