Posted in Health, Hygiene

Toothbrush and Toothpaste

So if your like me you sit there and ask your self if you should be brushing your dogs teeth. Well that’s a tough question, yes dogs mouth health is extremely important to their overall health just like it is with us; but most dogs will not sit in the bathroom every night and morning and allow you to brush their teeth, then swish with water, and spit in the sink and then maybe some mouth wash, then wash their face (well maybe a little to far) but you get my point. My dogs are extremely well mannered and will let me do anything I want but brushing their teeth is over that line for them. They run to their crates and sit in the very far back…. just like a teenager locking themselves in their room. So I have found that if I give them the teeth cleaning Kong toys to chew on about once a week for an hour or so we are good. My dogs are extreme chewers and can destroy that toy if they wanted to so that’s why I pick it up, if your dog just chews on it for a bit and is happy then I would leave it out for them to play with at all times. I check my dogs teeth about once a month to make sure everything looks good but other than that I leave that to the toys.

Now some dogs will allow you to clean their teeth and that’s great, you can use a dog specific tooth brush such as these or you can use a humane one. The dog specific brushes will be easier and is made for those hard to reach spots and for ease and comfort.

TOOTHPASTE: well obviously regular Crest toothpaste is not what you want for dogs, and I don’t believe they will appreciate the minty fresh-ness as much as you. Here are several different kinds of toothpaste that you can look through and find the one you like the most. They have beef, poultry, even a mint flavored toothpastes that are safe for the dogs.

Now that we have all of that figured out, now you are wondering how often do I need to brush their teeth. That all depends on your dogs. Smaller dogs are more prone to teeth problems, therefore cleaning their teeth should be done more often. I have had several large dogs and have never had to brush their teeth with having the teeth cleaning toys mentioned above. It also depends on how much your dogs chew and what they chew on. Check your pets teeth about once a moth or so and make your own decision on how often to clean them.

Any dental work for pets is surgery. If you take your pet into get their teeth cleaned they get put under to be able to do the needed work safely. The less that you pets get put under the better their health will be! Now with that being said I believe February is National Pet Dental Month and most clinics give a certain percentage off of any dental work in that month so if you dog needs a tooth removed or anything February is the month to do it.

I hope this helps some of yall that had questions or was just wondering. As always if you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact me directly at GermanShepherdDogs@doglover.com

Thanks have a wonderful day!

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

