Posted in Traveling

Traveling without your pets

If you are traveling anywhere and you are not taking your pet where will they be?? Are you taking them to a boarding facility? Are they staying with a pet sitter? Are they staying at home with someone checking in on them?

Traveling without your pets can be very emotional and hard for both us as fur-parents and our pets. Any time I go on a day trip for an appointment or other adventure that takes more than a 3-4 hours I make sure someone has my house key to let the babies out of their crates, to run around, and get some attention. Now the people that I trust with my dogs is a long list of like 2 people, and I have video cameras at my house so I can check on them anytime I want. With that being said I still stress out, are they gonna see something that they want to go after and he won’t be able to call them back, are they gonna get in a fight with the neighbors dog, what if, what if, what if….. The man I trust with my dogs is always at my house, he eats dinner with us most nights, he is a man I trust and my dogs trust. He knows their routine, he knows how to feed them, he knows when to feed them, he knows of any changes to their routine, he knows that they will try to run up to the Highway if you turn your back for a second,  basically he is my superman!! He has saved me more times than I can count.

Everything above is very important. If you are leaving your dogs with someone have a schedule written out, write out exactly how to feed them, do they get a special water because water in your area is not good, everything that they need to know. Especially if the dogs have been going to a certain area when you let them out that they need to be careful of. Also your dogs need to trust them!!! They need to know that he/she is in charge when you leave. A great way to test this is put the dogs away like you would if you were leaving for a trip, get in the car, and go down the road, then have your friend come and let the dogs out and play, then if they can put them away (will you dog go into their crate for this other person). Then your friend leaves, stops and talks to you on the way down the road, then you go back to the house and let them out again. Did everything go smoothly? Is there anywhere they can get better? Did they go back in their crates for this other person? YES, awesome things should go smoothly when you are gone. NO, what ever didn’t go smoothly work on it, was it feeding? reteach the person how to do it. Was it the crate? stand with your friend and let them tell your dogs to get in their crates, this will show your dogs that you agree with his/her command and that they should do as they say. It trail and error until everything goes smoothly and you feel comfortable.

Are you leaving your dog at a boarding center? have you been to that center before? Do you trust them? Before picking a boarding center for your babies go check them out, take a tour and meet some of the staff, then check them out on google or Facebook! Most people write about their experiences with these places and it might help you make a decision about that center.

If you are leaving your pet at a boarding center, make sure they have a schedule of your dog, and more than enough food for them. Also make sure you know exactly what you dropped off at the center with your dog and make sure you get it all back.

Don’t do anything you are not comfortable with! If you don’t like that boarding center find a different one. You get to be picky so find the one that you are happy and comfortable with.

 

If you have any other questions or comments please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

One thought on “Traveling without your pets

Leave a Reply

