Posted in About Me and What I do, Puppy Training, Training

Protection Dog Training

Do you want a protection dog for your family? Do you know where to start?

NO??? I didn’t either. I found this book that I love!!! You can order it here

“THE KOEHLER METHOD OF GUARD DOG TRAINING”

This book was originally printed in 1962 I believe. This book is still the basis to most police and military training for dogs. This book is not just about the big protection dogs, its about the small protection dogs as well.

It takes you step by step from basically the moment you start think you want a protection dog, to picking the breed, how to pick the right puppy, how to properly introduce the puppy to a new home, and how to maintain the drive in the dogs, and everything in between.

This book was written by a former k-9 instructor for the United States Army K-9 Corps, he was also Chief trainer for Walt Disney Studio, and Director of Obedience Training, Orange Empire Kennel Club. Needless to say Mr. William Koehler has just a little experience with training.

This book is not only for personal protection dogs, there is also a large section for plant security, Police, Military, and home protection. This book has everything!!

I got this book on Amazon (imagine that) at this time it is selling for just over $4

I hope this help the families just starting to look into getting a protection dog. This book has helped me very much and I believe it can help you.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

