Posted in About Me and What I do, Puppy Training, Training

Potty Training

Potty training puppies is very difficult and can get extremely frustrating. There are things that you can do to help ease the pain of training. I have posted a picture below that should help you control the house accidents.

Now when I take my dogs out, I always make sure I say potty and outside like half a million times. When I take my dogs out for the first week I would put my dog on a leash, take them to where I want them to go potty, then I remove the leash and say go potty (like 30 times). and when they do go potty I always make sure to say good potty and give as much praise as I can. I never give treats for going potty because I don’t believe in that type of reward for going potty.

I don’t agree with the bottom right side of the below picture but I left it for you to read and look at. Every person has their own way of teaching and training their dogs. I am not at all in any way saying how I train my dogs is right. It is just what I have found works for me and my dogs. In one of my other posts “How I Discipline” I talk about how I go about disciplining my dogs if they have an accident in the house. I take a harsher road I guess. I do what many people would say is wrong or mean. I take the puppy to their mess, I put their nose near it so they know why I am doing this, I say bad potty, and I spank them (not hard) and take them outside say “outside”, I walk them all the way to the “potty spot” and say go potty. Then when we return to the house we go back to the accident scene remind them why they are in trouble then they go to their crate. They sit in time out for 10-20 minutes or longer depending on what I feel is right for the incident. I also think that the punishment time is longer with age.

 

potty-training

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

