Posted in About Me and What I do, Puppy Training, Training

How I Discipline

Now I know there are several opinions about how to discipline your dogs or kids (my dogs are my kids) I  have read several books, articles, magazines, and post about how to discipline your dogs. I have I guess again made my own version of discipline that I believe works great for my dogs.

Disclaimer: I do not do any of the discipline out of hate or anger for the dog, I do it for them to learn. Also I never try to hurt my dog either.

When training my puppies and they have an accident in the house I would bring them over to their accident, spank them (not hard but they need to feel it) while saying bad potty, I then walk them to the door and say potty outside and take them outside where they normally go to the bathroom and tell them to go potty. I then bring them back into the house show them their accident again and walk them to their crate and close the door for 10-20 minutes. While they are in their crate I clean up the mess like it never happened. When I let them out of their crate I sit and talk to them (like you would with a kid taking them out of timeout) and then they go on their way to play outside or inside. I never hold it against them after they have served their time in their crate.

When they get into the trash I do somewhat the same thing. I take them to their mess and say NO and BAD then put them in their crate for their 10-20 minutes and clean up the mess.

Doing this discipline technique does not at all make them not like their crates. I walk into my dogs laying in their crates when ever they want to be left alone or get to hot.

 

I know I will get all kinds of comments saying that I should never do this to my dogs but it works. It works for me and my dogs are extremely well behaved and I like to believe it is because of my discipline.

I urge everyone to do their research and read several different articles and make your own discipline technique that works best for you and your dogs.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

