Posted in Training

Crate Training

I completely and whole heartedly believe in crate training. Both my dogs have extra large plastic dog crates. I use the plastic ones because they are easier to clean at least I think so. My dogs like the plastic crates because they are darker and make them feel safer.

One of the Cons to a plastic crate is they don’t fold down flat like the wire crates. The plastic crates do come apart in half but that’s still quiet large.

Ok so there is a huge controversy over crate training your dog. I have read some crate training articles and realized that I have a “modified” crate training method I guess.

My dogs have their own bedroom where their crates are and where one of them eat. I leave their crate doors open all day, the only time they are closed in their crate is when we are not home. My dogs sleep in my bedroom in their beds at night with free roam of the house. When I am home or my husband is home the dogs have free range of the entire house.

When my dogs get into trouble normally they put them selves in their crate knowing they did something wrong. They will stay in their crates until they believe they have been in there long enough. Then they will come over to me and tell me they are sorry and I get a kiss and they go about their business as normal.

Below is a picture of the type of crate I use for my dogs. I use the XL size even from a young age with a few blankets and always a toy.

2249606244-original

My dogs are my children and they mean the world to me.

Hope this helps some families and as always if you have any questions please feel free to comment or contact me.

 

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

