Posted in About Me and What I do

My Dogs

I currently have 2 dogs I have a Pit Bull and a German Shepard.

My Pit Bull is a Female and she was born the first week of January in 2014. She was brought to me at about 6 weeks old by one of my customers while I was working. He told me that she and all of her siblings were found in an abandoned house on his street. He knew I was looking for a Pit Bull and my firend that was working with me at the time was looking for one as well so we took in the two remaining puppies. The Female I got was the runt of the litter, she had very little meat on her bones and was shivering and scared when I first got her. I promptly went down to Walmart and bought Dog formula and some Pedialyte (Gatorade for babies) I would mix the formula with the Pedialyte and put it in a bowl for her to drink. After a week or so of doing that I got some Puppy food and starting making a mushy apple sauce type consistency for her to eat/drink. Once she started getting her strength up and some weight on her I began to add more food and less formula until she was on food alone. Little by little she gained more confidence and has become an amazing dog, and best friend to me.

My German Shepard was born August of 2015 and came to by from a “breeder”. I say it this way because the “owner/breeder” had him in a small enclosure completely muddy and disgusting. When he came to me at 11 months old he weighed about 40 pounds. He was skin and bones and scared of everything, his shadow, people, everything. It was so bad that after I got him home I called animal control in the city that the “breeder” lives to see if they knew what was going on with these dogs. The Animal Control office stated they have had several problems with this person and they are trying to get it taken care of. The breeder told me that this dog was protection imprinted and the alpha male of his pack. HAHAHAHA when I got him a butterfly could have been alpha over him…. With that being said now he is being trained for Police Protection K9 Services, so his confidence is sky rocketing and is more protective and happy than I was expecting. He also has gained some weight, October 2016 he now weights about 75-80 lbs. so he is doing great. He is a very special dog and is very near to my heart.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

One thought on “My Dogs

Leave a Reply

