Posted in Hygiene

Bath Time

Everyone has a different opinion about baths. I don’t like to give baths unless it is needed. Now that being said I will use a wet washcloth to wipe down my dog from time to time. My dogs only get baths when they are extremely dirty or stink. I think if a dog gets to many baths it will dry out their skin and that protective water coat I call it gets scrubbed away and the body will try to replace it.

Some people give their dogs a bath every week, or month, or twice a year. Its a personal preference. Obviously there are positive and negatives either way but for the dogs health of their coat I believe it is best to give baths as little as possible, like twice a year or so.

My dogs have several acres to run with cow manure, skunks, fox, and cats but even with all that they don’t come home smelling (some times they do) normally. When they do get a bath I use gentle Oatmeal Honey dog shampoo to ensure I don’t dry out their skin and it smells pretty awesome.

Here is a link to a long list of Oatmeal Shampoos on amazon.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

