Posted in Food and Feeding

Food inhaler dogs

Is your dog the one that inhales his entire bowl of food in like 1 minute flat?

My GSD inhales his food as soon as it hits the floor but we are making progress to slow his eating. Stated in my About Me post I somewhat explained my dogs past. He had to eat fast before other dogs got to it or had to fight for his food, I’m not sure which but he now eats so fast it’s scary.

Upon bringing my GSD home we first gave him a few days to realize there will be food for you. After a few days we would put down his food and then start touching him everywhere, he would stop eating until we were done touching him (good). Then after doing that for a few days we would put our hand in the middle of his food. He would stop and look at me like really mom….are you done (good). We also put items (non-food) in his food bowl that he would have to eat around. I use the little fruit cups or apple sauce cups and flip it over so it’s a big mound that he has to move to fit his big fat nose in his bowl to be able to eat. It looks very similar to the stainless steel one in the pictures below. This way he actually chews his food as he is figuring out how to get his next bite. You can also use a tennis ball or other items. There are also special bowls that you can buy that are essentiallying the same thing. There is a big mound in the middle that doesn’t move and they have to get between the middle of the bowl and the side to get their food.

Below are some pictures of bowls that I like and think work the best. Here is a link to Amazon.com for several bowls for fast eaters.

With age they will slow down eating but your like 2-4 years old. If you have a dog from a puppy age I would always leave food out for them to eat as they please instead of having a specific feeding time. It is much easier then feeding times!!

I also have trained my dog to sit and wait until I tell him it is ok to eat, not sure if it makes him eat slower but this way he is not pushing me out of the way to get his food. He waits a few feet back and sits and waits for me to leave the room and say “Ok” then he will go eat his food.

 

Hope this helps

Thanks for reading.

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

