Posted in Food and Feeding

Feeding Amounts/Time

When to feed your dog and how much to feed your dog.

There are two types of dogs, the dog that you can put a bowl of food on the ground and they will eat when they want and all you have to do is keep the bowl full. The other type is the second the food bowl hits the floor it is gone.

I unfortunately have both types. My Pit Bull eats mostly in the evening and every other day or  so. My GSD eats as soon as the bowl hits the floor (I believe it is because of his past, I don’t think there was always food so when he did get some he had to eat as fast as he could before the other dogs got to it). I am working on getting him to the point where he will slow down and he can be like the other dog.

My GSD eats 3 times a day about 6, 12, and 6. I do NOT feed them the same time every day, because most dogs will get that excited won’t leave you alone at the time they believe is feeding time.

As for the amount to feed your dog. I use the table on the back of the bag. I always feed about 1/2 cup to 1 cup more than what it says to. My GSD and Pit are very high energy and have several acres to run so they burn off extra calories everyday so I try to feed them a bit extra. So my GSD gets 1 1/2 cups of food 3 times a day. We are also still trying to put weight on him from his past owner.

My female Pit Bull weighs about 40 lbs. and has always been very consistent. My male GSD is 14 months and weighs about 75 lbs. and gaining about 1/2 a pound every day now. When we first got him and started feeding him regularly he gained 1 pound every day. So we are very excited that he is getting closer to his proper weight.

 

Hope this helps

 

Author:

I am a down home Country Woman, and I love to train dogs, and horses. I have produced my own training curriculum through my years. The following blog posts are all my beliefs and how I like to train. If you ever have questions or comments that you would like to email me directly please feel free to email me at germanshepherddogs@doglover.com

Leave a Reply

